Common to all writers is our penchant for telling others what to read.

I Love You Sun, I Love You Moon has simple, graceful text and comfy graphics in evocative colors. I found it easy to learn the signs for the nouns and do them while I read. (Can be a little awkward, with the baby on your lap. I sit across with the book between us, and make the signs so the child can see my hands as well as the book.)

Is Your Mama a Llama? asks a young ungulate to the other animals. Llama uses longer sentences that flow so easily, chidlren are captivated even if they don’t understand a word. And boy, is it adorable to hear them say, “Mama a wamma!” as they learn to speak.

Jamberry “One berry, two berry, pick me a blueberry.” How could you go wrong with the goofster story of two Alaskans everyone can love.

Goodnight Moon should not even be on this list because, oh, how original! Goodnight Moon in the children’s book category. However, did you know that the rhythmic prose contains every vowel/consonant combination in the English language?

Almost anything by Sandra Boyngton; we especially groove to:

  • The Going to Bed Book
  • But Not the Hippopotamus
  • The Belly Button Book (there is no better title to read aloud)

Speaking of books in series … but first, my all-time favorite for reading to young children:

Slouching Toward Bethlehem by Joan Didion.

