Second novel by Ryan Boudinot

I should confess right off that I don’t know if I get this book, Blueprints of the Afterlife.

Digression! Rebecca Brown once told me that she wanted sentences to so capture her that she had to stop reading, to go, Huh …  wow.

I can’t say I feel the same. Let’s take poetry. I read it like I do novels, cutting to the bottom of long paragraphs, looking for the story to pick up again. So much for me reading poetry.

Blueprints of the Afterlife is over 400 pages.

Let take sci/fi. I have not read anything future-tastic since the 4th grade, when assigned The Veld. (It was good.) But that whole, “Anything can happen because it’s The Future” element unnerves me. Where are the rules? I like rules.

I am perhaps un-ideal to review Blueprints of the Afterlife.

  • Join me tomorrow on PLOP!, as the fun begins.
