nonfiction 1Creative nonfiction/narrative essays are my thing, these days; currently working on two—one that I have spent ten years trying to get right. Lucky for me, Hugo House is offering a fabulous bunch of non-fiction-y stuff as part of this winter’s line-up.

Last November, I took Nicole Hardy’s workshop, The ‘Modern Love’ Story. Nicole was personable, funny, caring as can be, and organized, organized, organized. She did not hesitate to share information that other successful writers might keep close to the vest. I highly recommend her as a teacher, whether for her class, The Most Personal Essay, or her workshop, The Nonfiction Book Proposal.

If I were on the newer end of writing, or trying to break out of block, I’d go for David Schmader’s Brainstorming. Ditto for Wendy Call’s You Are Here, particularly if I were working on a piece that would benefit from an exploration of Place. Schmaeder and Call are long-time Hugo House teachers, and well-published. Both classes show every promise of living up to their crisp and lively descriptions.

Check back Friday for my Fiction Picks. And on Monday for Poetry.

