Let’s peel back the first layer of this very big question.

The only real difference I can see between promoting a self-published book and a traditionally published one is that traditional publishers give at least a year from contract-signing to book-in-hand. Rightly so, publishers want those months for the author to do as much pre-promo as possible. (There are a lot of classes and coaches that you can take to walk you through this process. I offer them.) 

A traditional publisher may assign you a publicist for the few weeks prior to and following your launch date. That is an industry standard.

I see self-published authors too eager to get their book “out there” as soon as possible. While the eagerness is understandable, the book then debuts to the crashing sound of no sales or media attention because there is no platform there to support those.

I strongly recommend giving yourself a year to lay the necessary groundwork for a successful debut.

2 responses

  1. I remember falling into that urge to get it out when I was young. I’m definitely hoping to do more pre-promo now with my second fantasy novel coming out later this year.

    1. We learn as we age … by now, I must be very, very wise!

Leave a comment

Related posts

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com