Do you think I should try to submit excerpts as short stories? Look for an agent?

If you are publishing a novella, 40-50K is a good word count to aim for. A novelette comes in at 7,700 – 17,500 words.

For most agents to be interested in the project, you will need to bring it up to at least 70K words. You can do a lot of research on lit mags that take novellas, but I think you will have better luck placing short stories.

It takes me a ton of work to adapt a chapter into a story, but I’ve done it six times, all resulting in publications: New World WritingTupelo Quarterly, Dale Peck’s Evergreen Review, and Another ChicagoThis one placed as first finalist for The Lascaux Prize.

I list in the order which the chapters appear in As Far as You Can Go Before You Have to Come Back

If you’d like to receive my article about adapting short pieces from a longer work, subscribe (always free!) to my newsletter or coerce one other person to do so. Let me know that you did so: theonlyallehall@gmail.com

Now an audiobook:

Leave a comment

Related posts

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com